Home » Makeup » Butterflies, Peacocks and Multiple Shades of Blue Eyeshadow!

Butterflies, Peacocks and Multiple Shades of Blue Eyeshadow!

Hi ya’ll! I hope everyone is having a fun spring! In less than a month, I’ll be relaxing in Greece, celebrating and participating in my dear friends’ destination big, fat Greek wedding on the island of Chios, followed by an amazing cruise through the Greek Isles and ending in Rome! I’m SO EXCITED. In the meantime, let’s take a look at some fun summer makeup!

I noticed that Chanel and Dior’s summer makeup collections are both pulling colors from the same palette, even though they are each referencing different inspirations. Chanel’s summer 2013 collection is called  L’ÉTÉ PAPILLON DE CHANEL, drawing inspiration from the iridescent wings of butterflies.

from Google Image Search

from Google Image Search

from Google Image Search

from Google Image Search

Dior, on the other hand, took inspiration from Christian Dior’s early excursions into Latin America and his fascination with all things tropical and named their collection Birds of Paradise.

from Google Image Search

from Google Image Search

You can really see how similar these collections are! As you’ve probably noticed from my makeup tutorials, I really loves shades of teal, coral and bronze-y pink. As beautiful as I find these collections from Chanel and Dior, I KNEW I already had dupes for almost every shade, so instead I used these photos as inspiration to create my own look.

Butterflies and birds of paradise, oh my!

Butterflies and birds of paradise, oh my!

So fresh!

So fresh!

The completed look

The completed look

Here are the eye products I used:

The eyeshadows are Urban Decay

The eyeshadows are Urban Decay

On my face, I am wearing NARS Orgasm blush, bronzer (I don’t remember which one, maybe LORAC?) and Chanel Rouge Allure Extrait De Gloss in Imaginaire.

This is such a fun look, I love these colors. Blue, teal especially, is so flattering on any eye color. If it makes you nervous, start with a little eyeliner or a sheer wash of eyeshadow on your lid and work your way up. Wear makeup for yourself! And remember, if you don’t like it or you messed up, it washes right off.

Thanks for reading!

One thought on “Butterflies, Peacocks and Multiple Shades of Blue Eyeshadow!

Leave a Reply

