Home » Makeup » New Year’s Eve Double Feature Smokey Eyes!

New Year’s Eve Double Feature Smokey Eyes!

New Year’s Eve is the perfect time to bust out your smokiest, glitteriest, most dramatic looks in your arsenal! That’s why I’m providing you with not one, but TWO different looks with step-by-step photos!

I know a dark, dramatic eye look can be intimidating to try but I swear the trick is to blend, blend, blend. If you really think you messed up applying that matte black eyeshadow, just take your fluffiest eyedshadow brush and buff it over the area as much as you can, that will usually hid any imperfections/lighten up if you accidentally over applied/etc.

Anyway, the first look I did was a sort of gunmetal, silver, and black smokey eye, that is actually pretty easy and fool-proof. I used Urban Decay eyeshadows from the first Vice palette, but please use whatever colors you feel are a good dupe.

Silver and smoke!

Silver and smoke!

Ta-da! I also added a little bit of bright silver eyeliner to the inner corners of my eyes.

Ta-da! I also added a little bit of bright silver eyeliner to the inner corners of my eyes.

Lastly, I used a smudgy black eyeliner to do my lower lashline and waterlines for some extra drama. Don't forget lots of mascara or even falsies!

Lastly, I used a smudgy black eyeliner to do my lower lashline and waterlines for some extra drama. Don’t forget lots of mascara or even falsies!

For the rest of my face, I used a light peachy sheer blush for my cheeks and a little bit of bronzer. On my lips, I picked out a semi-sheer sparkly bronze-pink lip gloss. Because my eyes are so dramatic, I kept the rest of the look fairly simple and sheer.

Here is a list of the specific products used:

  • Urban Decay Naked Skin Liquid Makeup in 3.5
  • Hard Candy Glamoflage concealer in Medium
  • Urban Decay Naked Skin Ultra Definition Pressed Finishing Powder in Medium Light
  • Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion
  • Korres Magic Light Face Contouring Powder Trio in Mykonos
  • LORAC Bronzer
  • Benefit Watt’s Up highlighter
  • Urban Decay eyeshadows in Armor, Desperation, Black Market, and Virgin (not sure if all of these are available individually)
  • Makeup Forever Aqua Liner in #13 (Black)
  • Urban Decay Heavy Metal Glitter Eyeliner in Glam Rock
  • L’Oreal Voluminous Smoldering Eyeliner in Black
  • Maybelline The Colossal Volum’ Express mascara
  • Maybelline Duo Brow Pencils
  • Nyx Mega Shine Lipgloss in Cosmo

Onto Look #2!

Super drama!

Super drama!

I added a shimmery highlighter shade to in my inner corners and just under the arch.

I added a shimmery highlighter shade to in my inner corners and just under the arch.

What I like about the glitter liner that doesn't quit show in the photos is that it's a really pretty blue/green color.

What I like about the glitter liner that doesn’t quit show in the photos is that it’s a really pretty blue/green color.

As in the first look, I kept the rest of my makeup fairly simple and sheer, since I am wearing so much black on my eyes. Here’s a list of the products I used:

  • Urban Decay Naked Skin Liquid Makeup in 3.5
  • Hard Candy Glamoflage concealer in Medium
  • Urban Decay Naked Skin Ultra Definition Pressed Finishing Powder in Medium Light
  • Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion
  • Urban Decay Naked Flushed blush, highlighter, and bronzer
  • Urban Decay the Black Palette (limited edition, discontinued)
  • Urban Decay Naked2 Palette
  • Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Eye Liner in Perversion
  • Urban Decay Heavy Metal Glitter Eye Liner in Distortion
  • Maybelline The Colossal Volum’ Express mascara in Blackest Black
  • Maybelline Duo Brow Pencils
  • Benefit Ultra Plush lip gloss in Sugarbomb

I didn’t provide any shopping links this time around, but almost everything can be purchased at Ulta, with the exception of Hard Candy which is only available at Walmart and Makeup Forever and Korres are only available at Sephora.

I hope ya’ll get some fun ideas for tomorrow night! I know I’m ready to head up to Austin to see Bob Schneider and I’ve got my look all planned out!

Happy New Year!

11 thoughts on “New Year’s Eve Double Feature Smokey Eyes!

    • Thank you! The Vice palette is really great, there’s some really pretty colors. I would have gotten Vice 2, but I decided to get Naked3 instead (I told myself I could have one, but not both!)

Leave a Reply

