Country Style From a Non-Country Girl

I’m back, ya’ll! So about a week ago, I went to my 10 year high school reunion. It was… uneventful really. There weren’t a whole lot of people that I knew there. I graduated with a pretty large class (between 500-600) and it looked like basically everyone I hung out with then decided to opt out, including most of my dance/drill teammates. But there were a few people I knew and it was good to see everyone. I didn’t stay that late, as my reunion landed right in the middle of FUNstival weekend and I think a lot of people showed up after I left. With that said, here’s what I wore!

We had our reunion waaaay north of San Antonio at a place called Tejas Rodeo. It’s like a big event center with a real, working rodeo, live band, dancefloor, restaurant, bar, vendors… It was actually pretty cool. I had heard of it but never been. I may have lived in Texas for the past 18 years, but I am NOT country by any means! But I did, finally, buy a pair of real cowboy boots a couple months back, so I had something to build an outfit on.

My gorgeous Tony Lama’s! I❤ these so.

I think I did a good country girl impersonation

Dress, Marshalls similar; Belt, Marshalls similar; Clutch, Charming Charlie; Boots, Cavender’s

The dress and belt are pieces I had bought over the summer. I love the dress because it’s so flattering with it’s faux wrap skirt and cowl neckline. The belt is actually bedazzled leopard print! So totally Texan. But the boots are my favorite. It’s really hard for me to find boots that fit over my calves, but these are perfect and they feel good too! Very soft leather and they required next to no breaking in. And I got a ton of compliments on them!

Makeup closeups after the jump!

Kept it simple and pretty

Eyeshadow! My favorite part

On the face is just a lot of beige blush and bronzer, but on my eyes I used shades of gold and brownish-gold on the outer corners and black eyeliner and lots of black mascara to finish it off. The basic format I use for eyeshadow is a highlighting shade from crease to brow bone; a light shade on the lid; medium shade in the crease; darkest shade outer corner going in. It works for EVERYTHING.

I forgot to put lipstick on for the picture, but I used a bright coral from L’Oreal called Volcanic. I LOVE  a bright lip.

So I think I did a pretty good job surviving my first reunion! I thought I looked pretty darn cute and people actually remembered me from way back then!

Leave a Reply

