Fashion Week San Antonio 2013 Wrap Up

Hi ya’ll! I’ve been a bit busy since the last time I posted an update on here (sorry about that!). It’s been a pretty crazy few months for me!

This past week was Fashion Week San Antonio and this was the first year I actually knew the schedule BEFORE all the events happen, because I usually find out about it a week after. I attended the Kick Off Party last Friday night at the Aztec Theater in downtown San Antonio.

Red carpet at Fashion Week San Antonio Kick Off!

Red carpet at Fashion Week San Antonio Kick Off!

It was a beautiful location and fun to see local fashionistas mingling (and the men, too!). I spent some time chatting with Marisol Deluna, a New York based designer originally from San Antonio. She has worked with Girl Scouts of the USA, designing official Girl Scout scarves and was in town to participate in the Avant Garde Going Green Gown Exhibition (more on that later).

Chandelier at the Aztec Theater

Chandelier at the Aztec Theater

Overhead view of the party

Overhead view of the party

Fiats!

Fiats!

Although the party was in a great location, I wish there was just more going on during the event especially since it was $20 to attend and that there were more people in attendance. But I did get a nifty pair of Guess headphones in my swag bag!

Photo from the San Antonio Current

This past Tuesday, I attended the Avant Garde Going Green Gown Exhibition. Around 40 local design students each submitted a garment made of recycled and repurposed materials, and we as the audience would judge on the most original, most innovative and best design.

Red carpet at the Avant Garde Going Green Gown Exhibition!

Red carpet at the Avant Garde Going Green Gown Exhibition!

I was SO EXCITED.

I was SO EXCITED.

The designs were so incredible, the level of talent each designer displayed was really extraordinary. Here are a few of my favorites.

Photo from the San Antonio Current

Photo from the San Antonio Current

I thought this dress was the most innovative use of a material! I loved the detail on the shoulder and the back of the dress dipped into a low, off-center V. It was so amazing and I love the color.

Photo from the San Antonio Current

When this dress fist went down the runway, I literally could not figure out what the designer had used. I was totally stumped. It was only when I saw the dress up close after the show that I saw the red part was made of glittered guitar picks! I love the whimsical shape, it reminded me of something in Alice in Wonderland.

Photo from the San Antonio Current

Photo from the San Antonio Current

This was my favorite by far! I love the structure and playfulness of it, a combination of flirty party dress and playing card pyramids! She even did the shoes to match.

Photo from the San Antonio Current

Photo from the San Antonio Current

Marisol Deluna, working with local Girl Scouts, did the finale dress using over 135 feet of recycled paper, printed with her own Girl Scout scarf designs. It’s now on display at the Sally Cheever Girl Scout Leadership Center!

So fun!

Even the model was a Girl Scout Alumna

Hopefully next year I will get to attend more Fashion Week San Antonio events! It was so fun!

3 thoughts on “Fashion Week San Antonio 2013 Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

