Revlon’s Legacy Collection Lipsticks

Revlon recently allowed their fans to vote on retired lipstick shades to bring back and they have spoken! Revlon released the Legacy Collection of lipsticks, consisting of retired lipstick shades spanning the decades, from the 1940s up till the 1990s. I have been anticipating this collection since forever! A few years ago, I purchased Fire & Ice lipstick in reproduction vintage packaging that Revlon released a few years ago and it has since become one of my favorite shades, so I was very excited about this collection of vintage lippies.

The Legacy Collection consists of five retired Revlon shades: Icy Violet, released in 1946; Snow Peach, released in 1956; Fifth Avenue Red, released in 1958; Jungle Peach, released in 1963; and Sandstorm, released in 1999.

Revlon Legacy Collection

Revlon Legacy Collection

All of the lippies are in Revlon’s Super Lustrous formulation, which are “sealed in with mega-moisturizers to seal in color and softness.” It’s a very creamy formula that is lightly hydrating and emollient. It’s very comfortable to wear!

First up is Icy Violet, the most vintage color of them all. It was released two years before my dad was even born!

Icy Violet, 1946

Icy Violet, 1946

A somewhat frosty, plummy brown with violet tones, Icy Violet is very wearable and not nearly as lavender on as it appears in the tube.

Icy Violet

Icy Violet

I really liked it more than I thought I would! It’s a great shade for the office, a little different than your typical MLBB (“my lips but better”).

Second up is Snow Peach!

Snow Peach, 1956

Snow Peach, 1956

I LOVE this shade! It’s just the perfect coral pink and it debuted with the most fabulous commercial!

Snow Peach

Snow Peach

The third in the lineup is Fifth Avenue Red, a timeless 50’s red.

Fifth Avenue Red, 1958

Fifth Avenue Red, 1958

You can never go wrong with a red lippie and this is no exception. It’s a tad darker, not quite a true blue-red, but very wearable, especially for daytime.

Fifth Avenue Red

Fifth Avenue Red

The fourth lippie is Jungle Peach, a peachy nude.

Jungle Peach, 1963

Jungle Peach, 1963

This so reminds me of something Twiggy would have modeled! I love this because it’s a nude that still has a bit of pink in it so you don’t end up with corpse lips.

Jungle Peach

Jungle Peach

Finally, Revlon rounded out the collection with Sandstorm, since brown lips were a thing in the 90’s.

Sandstorm, 1999

Sandstorm, 1999

This is nice because it’s a bronze-y brown with a lot of shimmer. Although it’s my least favorite of the five, I could still see myself wearing it this summer, especially sheered out to just a tint. In the picture below, I wore a few layers of it so you could really see the color.

Sandstorm

Sandstorm

I picked up this collection at my local Walgreens, but I’ve also seen it at CVS and I’m sure it’s available anywhere Revlon is sold. But I would suggest to go searching now, because I’m not sure how long this limited edition collection will be in stores!

Swatches!

Swatches!

Other makeup worn in this look:

4 thoughts on “Revlon’s Legacy Collection Lipsticks

  1. Cindy Comfort says:

    Great review and I love how you showed all the colors on you- I think I liked the jungle peach the best on you-very fresh looking!

  2. Cindy Comfort says:

    I stopped by Walgreens today, 3-10-14,for Q-tips- (our big HEB only carries the house brand and they’re not as plump as the name brand) and while there I found the lipsticks. I checked out my receipt when I got home home and they were having a special on the lipsticks– buy one get second one 1/2 price. So, time to pick up a couple. Also looking through the Sunday paper and the CVS has some Revlon products with same special–I’m not sure it includes the lipstick though.

Leave a Reply

