Don't dream it, be it

The Rocky Horror Picture Show X MAC – Let’s do the Time Warp!

UGH, no one is allowed to put out any more makeup collections themed around my favorite movies because apparently I want them all!

Special cardboard packaging with The Lips.

Special cardboard packaging with The Lips.

There's even pictures on the inside of the box!

There’s even pictures on the inside of the box!

For the Halloween season, MAC teamed up with The Rocky Horror Picture Show, the cultiest cult film ever. I remember my parents letting me watch this with them when I was about nine years old. Looking back, OMG I can’t believe they let me. It’s pretty raunchy but obviously all of that went over my head. I do remember them telling me about how people go to midnight showings, dressed as the characters and throw toast and other things. After being a fan of the film for years, I went to my first shadow-cast performance at the Alamo Drafthouse with a group of friends a few years ago and it really is so much fun. I think this MAC collaboration is the perfect way to commemorate the film’s 40th anniversary!

Riff Raff eyeshadow palette, Strange Journey and Oblivion lipsticks and Crazed Imagination blush

Riff Raff eyeshadow palette, Strange Journey and Oblivion lipsticks and Crazed Imagination blush

The collection is pretty extensive and unfortunately, a good chunk of it is already sold out. I purchased a few pieces online when it premiered a few days ago and that’s what I have to show you here. The entire collection can be viewed at MAC’s website and it also available to purchase at MAC stores (but not the department store counters).

Riff Raff eyeshadow palette, Strange Journey and Oblivion lipsticks and Crazed Imagination blush

Riff Raff eyeshadow palette, Strange Journey and Oblivion lipsticks and Crazed Imagination blush

The Riff Raff eyeshadow palette includes six eyeshadows. On the left side there is Oh Rocky!!! (deep silver Veluxe Pearl), Blackberry (muted burgundy plum brown, Matte) and Heavy, Black and Pendulous (grayish blue with pearl, Frost). On the right side, Crystal (violet duochrome with pearl, Frost), Graphic Style (deep silver, Veluxe Pearl) and Carbon (intense black, Carbon).

Lipsticks include Strange Journey (yellowish brick red, Matte) and Oblivion (vivid blush red, Amplified). I really wanted Frank N Furter, but it wasn’t available until several hours after the collection premiered online so by the time I logged back in, it was already sold out. However, I really like the two I was able to snag.

The blush is Crazed Imagination, (muted plum with hint of pink pearl, Sheertone Shimmer). This blush was quite a pleasant surprise. It’s not nearly as pigmented as it appears in the pan, so there is no worry about over applying. It’s a very pretty color that would work across skintones.

Don't dream it, be it

Don’t dream it, be it

This was SO FUN TO PLAY WITH. The muted, dirty tones of the face and eye products, compared with the vividness of the red lips totally captures the look of the film.

IMG_3731IMG_3732

IMG_3733

So I was trying to pose in the spirit of the film, but I really felt like this instead:

WEEEEE!!!! I <3 THIS!!!!

WEEEEE!!!! I❀ THIS!!!!

This has also totally inspired me to dress up as Magenta for Halloween!

Columbia and Magenta with Dr. Frank N. Furter

Columbia and Magenta with Dr. Frank N. Furter

3 thoughts on “The Rocky Horror Picture Show X MAC – Let’s do the Time Warp!

    • kalliope84 says:

      Thanks so much! I actually wore it to work today, just went a little easier on the black liner and swapped the red lips for a sheer gloss. With Halloween coming up, I bet you can find a live show best you! Thanks for readingπŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

