All the stuff I got in my Influenster Frosty VoxBox, definitely quite the mix.

The Influenster Frosty VoxBox

It’s another edition of Influenster reviews! Influenster is a community that anyone can join and they send you free stuff to review, which is what I will be doing today. As always, although everything below was sent gratis, all opinions are my own and I am receiving no compensation for this post.

All the stuff I got in my Influenster Frosty VoxBox, definitely quite the mix.

All the stuff I got in my Influenster Frosty VoxBox, definitely quite the mix.

This particular box was quite the mish-mash of different stuff, so there are a few things that are off-theme with my blog in general but we’re going to go through it anyway because I like getting free stuff in the mail. We’ll continue after the jump because this going to be a little long and very picture-heavy.

Rimmel London's Gentle Eye Makeup Remover

Rimmel London’s Gentle Eye Makeup Remover

First up is some eye makeup remover from Rimmel London. This particular product says that it “removes all eye makeup, including long lasting and waterproof makeup, with no oily residue. Gently remove all of your eye makeup and start fresh again in the morning!”

Well, I can attest that it cannot remove long lasting and waterproof makeup as I could not remove the Rimmel eyeliner that is coming up later in this post. But I think that eyeliner is an outlier in that it’s a crappy product, but we’ll discuss that later. For everything else I have tried removing with this Rimmel makeup remover, it has worked adequately well. That includes: long-lasting lipstick and regular mascara, liner and eyeshadow. I didn’t have any stinging in my eyes, it doesn’t have much of a discernible smell and it didn’t leave a weird residue behind. So I recommend this if you’re in need of an eye makeup remover.

YUM

YUM

Next up is Red Vines Fruit Vines Bites in Cherry! These were really good. They were soft and chewy and not too hard to eat. I basically ate the whole bag in one sitting. No complaints, would purchase. From the product description: “Fruit Vines® Bites are a new, soft, chewy fruit candy, from the Red Vines® family, available in two fruit flavors – strawberry and cherry.  Low fat and made with no preservatives, Fruit Vines® Bites are available in three sizes: a 2oz single serve, a 5oz hanging bag and a 10oz re-sealable stand-up bag and can be found at Walmart in the West, Kroger, Walgreens, Target and Safeway and Rite Aid. ”

Eco-Tools Hairbrush

ecotools Hairbrush

I also received this ecotools Sleek + Shine Finisher brush. This is a really nice brush, although not one I would use exclusively. I don’t necessarily care for boar-bristle type brushes in that they don’t detangle that well and as my hair is somewhat fine but quite wavy, it does get tangled especially after a shower. But I have used it a couple of times while blowing out my hair and with that it works great. It has an open back design, so that the air flows through and it straightens my hair without making it too frizzy. I also liked the wooded handle and that it is very lightweight. It looks nice in my bathroom and is easy to hold. From the product description: “The unique bristle pattern allows the synthetic boar’s hair-like bristles to penetrate down to the scalp, distributing hair’s natural moisturizers and leaving hair with a sleek, lustrous shine.”

Candy Cane Green Tea

Celestial Seasonings Candy Cane Lane Green Tea

I’m not entirely sure if this is still available as the holiday season is over, but nevertheless I will give my opinion. This tea is “meh.” I like mint green tea, but this really does taste like candy canes. It’s a little too candy-like for me but I like that it’s decaffeinated so it’s a good choice for evening or bedtime tea-drinking. From the product description: “Replenish your mind and body and awaken your senses with Celestial Seasonings® Holiday Teas. Our Candy Cane Lane® Decaf Green Tea is made with the very finest green tea leaves, peppermint and other botanicals, because at Celestial Seasonings, we know you are what you steep. Live life well this holiday season with Celestial Seasonings.”

Boots No7 Protect & Perfect Intense ADVANCED Serum

Boots No7 Protect & Perfect Intense ADVANCED Serum

Next up is Boots No. 7 Protect & Perfect Intense ADVANCED Serum. As it says on the package, this is better for signs of advanced aging, which I do not have as I slather my face in SPF 7o everyday and stay out of the sun as much as possible.Not to mention, I’m only 30 years old. Anyway, I had enough product in the foil packet to use it for a couple of days but there wasn’t enough to notice any sort of difference. It’s not too thick or thin and it’s also very moisturizing. It made my skin feel smooth and I think it could double as a primer for your makeup.

Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal Eyeliner

Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal Eyeliner

Black kohl kajal eyeliner! It’s always good to have an extra black eyeliner. Anyway, initially when I tried Rimmel’s Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal Eyeliner, I was going to give this a bad review. It was impossible to line my eyes as it drug and skipped and overall was not smooth at all. Also when I swatched it on my arm, it would NOT come off. Like at all. But I gave it a second chance and used it to tightline and OMG IT WAS A MIRACLE WORKER. I usually never line my waterlines as nothing ever ever ever stays as my eyes are usually watery and sensitive. This stuff does.not.move. Tightlining is great because it makes your eyes pop and makes your lashes look thicker, so I definitely recommend using this to get that effect!

Tightlined!

Tightlined!

In the pic above, I’ve tightlined my upper waterline with the Scandaleyes pencil. Below, I’ve added another picture of my eye makeup (using Urban Decay’s Naked3 palette) and a close-up.

Eye makeup: Urban Decay Naked3 palette Lips: Maybelline The Mattes Lush for Blush

Eye makeup: Urban Decay Naked3 palette
Lips: Maybelline The Mattes Lush for Blush

Tightlined the upper waterline

Tightlined the upper waterline

If you do decide to use this as a regular eyeliner, I would suggest using a heavy duty oil-based eye makeup remover to take it off.

NYC New York Color Expert Last Lip Color in Sugarplum

NYC New York Color Expert Last Lip Color in Sugarplum

The penultimate item in my box is NYC Expert Last Lip Color in Sugarplum. This is a nice, neutral lipstick. It’s not mind-blowing, but it’s moisturizing, feels good on and the color I think would work across a spectrum of skin tones. I don’t know if I’ll buy another lipstick from this brand, as I prefer Revlon, NYX and L’Oreal. Anyway, no complaints on this!

Swatch of NYC lipstick and Rimmel eyeliner

Swatch of NYC lipstick and Rimmel eyeliner

Wearing NYC Expert Last on my lips and Rimmel Scandaleyes on my eyes (as regular liner)

Wearing NYC Expert Last on my lips and Rimmel Scandaleyes on my eyes (as regular liner)

Ok, so the last product in my box is totally sort of random but I have to review it!

McCormick Gourmet All Natural Thyme

McCormick Gourmet All Natural Thyme

So I got a bottle of dried thyme. But I was excited because I am trying to build up my spice collection and those can be kind of expensive. Anyway, I used the McCormick’s thyme to make some baked chicken thighs. I actually added some other spices because just thyme seemed kind of boring.

Chicken thigh! With edamame and cous-cous.

Chicken thigh! With edamame and cous-cous.

Anyway, my chicken turned out pretty tasty. This was actually what I made for my New Years Eve dinner, since I ended up staying in.

So that’s it for my Influenster Frosty VoxBox! I had fun trying out all the stuff in my box and I hope ya’ll found some stuff that you might want to try.

Leave a Reply

