Stroooobe

Strobing! Or Extreme Highlighting or The Opposite of Contouring

Heyo! I’ve got lots of backup posts to write, but this look was a spur-of-the-moment thing and I liked it so much that I took some pictures and I’m getting it written up today!

Stroooobe

Stroooobe

If you keep up with all the beauty trends/blogs/gurus, then you already know that contouring has been huge for the past year. As trends go, now that literally every company has released a contouring product or palette the opposite thing is in: strobing or in other words, extreme highlighting. Highlighting is my favorite part of the contouring process (which I rarely do as it is) so naturally strobing is for me.

For this look, I took inspiration from the strobing tutorial by Karen at Makeup and Beauty Blog in that I used and layered several different products. I was actually just going off of memory because I read it a couple weeks ago and like I said above, I hadn’t been planning on doing a “blog look” today as it was.

Shine on!

Shine on!

I started off using MAC Strobe Cream on my cheekbones and other high points of my face and then I applied L’Oreal True Match Lumi foundation (W3 Nude Beige) and Maybelline Fit Me concealer (in Sand – using my fingers to apply both) and set all of that with NYX Set It, Don’t Fret It Mineral Setting Powder. Oh! Before I set that, I used L’Oreal Magic Lumi Pen dabbed and blended over my concealer and around my brows. After setting with powder, I then applied Wet n’ Wild Color Icon Reserve Your Cabana bronzer (it’s really more of a highlighter/finishing powder on me) on the center of my forehead, under my eyes, bridge of nose and chin.

On my cheeks, I used a matte hot pink blush from an Ulta contouring palette and also applied Benefit Watt’s Up? cream highlight on my cheekbones. On top of that, using a larger blending brush I applied Jaclyn Hill x Becca’s Champagne Pop! Shimmering Skin Perfector onto my cheekbones, bridge of nose, cupid’s bow, chin and center of forehead.

On my eyes, I primed them with LORAC Behind the Scenes eyeshadow primer and applied W.O.S. from Urban Decay’s Naked Basics palette. Using my finger, I patted on a very light layer of ColourPop’s Shark Attack. I lined them with Urban Decay’s 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil in Twice Baked (LE, no longer available) and used L’Oreal’s Voluminous mascara in Carbon Black. On my brow bone I layered Virgin from Naked Basics and Champagne Pop! and also added Virgin to my inner corners. Eyebrows are just filled in with a dark brown from a NYX palette and shaped with Maybelline’s Brow Drama gel in clear. Lips are MAC Viva Glam Miley Cyrus with Champagne Pop! patted on top (just used my finger).

#highlightonfleek

#highlightonfleek

It sounds super involved, but it didn’t take that long and it feels nice because it’s not heavy at all.

This is a great trend to hop on, especially as we head into the dog days of summer (it’s so hot!). Remember my last couple of posts complaining about too much rain? Now it’s super hot, although it’s only been in the high 90’s instead of 100’s, which in South Texas is not so bad considering it’s early August.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

