This is what it looks like when it's shipped, except with shrink-wrapped plastic.

Target Beauty Boxes

Hi ya’ll!

This week I’ve got a review of a couple of beauty boxes I bought off of Target.com. These boxes are not subscription based and you can check out the contents inside before you buy, so basically these are my ideal type of beauty boxes. I can’t committ to a regular subscription box in that I have such an in-depth collection that I don’t want to end up with a bunch of stuff I won’t use or already own. Anyway, Target offers these beauty boxes from time to time on their website. I usually hear about them from either reddit.com/r/makeupaddiciton or from the Target Style Facebook page. Alternatively, you can always search for them on Target.com. The boxes are usually around $5 (sometimes a little more) and ships for free. Target always shows exactly what’s going to be in each box, so you know exactly what you’re getting. Sometimes the color will vary on a lipstick or a nail polish, but I can deal with that.

This is what it looks like when it's shipped, except with shrink-wrapped plastic.

This is what it looks like when it’s shipped, except with shrink-wrapped plastic.

I purchased two boxes back in August that were both back-to-school themed. Unfortunately, these particular boxes are no longer available, but the products inside are.

The Honor Roll box

The Honor Roll box

The goodies inside!

The goodies inside!

This box included the following:

  • The Bathery shower poof
  • John Frieda Luxurious Volume 7 Day Volume In Shower Treatment
  • NYX Butter Gloss in Strawberry Parfait
  • Olay Fresh Outlast Cooling White Strawberry and Mint body wash
  • Covergirl Outlast All-Day Primer
  • Burt’s Bees Facial Cleansing Wipes
  • Goody Ouchless hair bands

My favorite item out of this box would definitely be the primer, which I wasn’t expecting it to be. It’s a water-based primer, which is sort of hard to find especially at a good price point. So this Covergirl primer is white and a bit runny, very different if you are used to Smashbox’s Photo Finish Face Primer which is silicone based. Water-based primers are best used with water-based foundations, like L’Oreal’s True Match Lumi which I used as my everyday foundation.

The Olay body wash was just OK. The product itself is great (or as good as a drugstore body wash can be) but the scent was like cheap strawberry candy and it was really strong. I didn’t get the cooling effect of it at all.

The John Frieda 7 Day Volume treatment was OK? I couldn’t really tell a difference when I used it, but it could be that my hair is too long and heavy right now for it to work effectively.

The NYX Butter Gloss lip gloss is good too. I have one already in a coral orange, so it was nice to get another in a different color. This is a blue-based bright pink. I like the Butter Glosses because they aren’t sticky and have pretty good pigmentation.They aren’t totally sheer, but not so opaque that it’s a liquid lipstick.

The last three items (the shower poof, hair bands and towlettes) were unremarkable. Hair bands are great because I always need them and these are really strong. I use these primarily when I do a sock bun. The shower poof is a shower poof, I needed a new one anyway. The Burt’s Bees towelettes are nice too, comparable to the Neutrogena makeup remover wipes but with a more herbal scent.

Head of the Class box

Head of the Class box

Next up is the Head of the Class box!

Contents inside

Contents inside

The Head of the Class box was a bit more makeup-based, but this one had some good stuff, too.

  • Herbal Essences Wild Naturals Illuminating Dry Oil Spray
  • Yes to Cucumbers Soothing Hypoallergenic Facial Towelettes
  • Wet N Wild Max Volume Plus Mascara in Amp’d Black
  • The Bathery 2-in-1 Pumice Stone
  • Hollywood Fashion Tape
  • Covergirl Colorlicious Lip Gloss in Give Me Guava
  • Goody Ouchless hair bands

My favorite item would probably be the Yes to Cucumbers facial towlettes. I love anything cucumber so these felt really nice and soothing. I think they are about on par with the Neutrogena makeup remover wipes, but I like the cucumber scent on these and I found the wipe to be softer.

I actually love the color of the Covergirl lip gloss in the tube, but once I put it on it was basically clear. No pigment at all. So that was disappointing, but it’s a decent gloss and one that you can keep in your bag when you just want to swipe something on your lips quickly.

The Herbal Essences dry oil spray smells so good, just like all Herbal Essences products. I didn’t find that it made my hair especially amplified with shine, but it didn’t feel oily or greasy afterword. It’s nice to spray on for just a bit of shine or to tame down some flyaways.

The pumice stone was great too, but the blue sandy side in the middle totally wore off after a few uses. The rest of it works though, so that’s fine.

I didn’t care for the mascara. It’s got a rubberized brush, which historically just doesn’t work with my fine eyelashes. I prefer a bristly, natural brush. I’ll keep it around to use on the weekends, but I know I won’t purchase it once it’s finished.

The hair bands are exactly the same as the last box so I won’t repeat myself. The Hollywood Fashion Tape is so handy to keep around. I used to have some a few years ago, but never got around to repurchasing it. These are great to use to keep button-up shirts from bursting open, doing a quick, temporary hem or keeping bra straps concealed under a strappy shirt. Just remember to peel them off before you throw it in the wash.

One thing I forgot to add is that both boxes came with a coupon for $3 off a $15 beauty purchase at Target stores or Target.com. Currently, there aren’t any beauty boxes available for purchase but keep an eye out! These are definitely a great deal and a way to try out new products without busting the bank.

Thanks for reading!

3 thoughts on “Target Beauty Boxes

Leave a Reply

