I guess I'll Stick Around this Runaway Train that Smells Like Teen Spirit in a Possum Kingdom.

90s Grunge Inspired

So it seems the first big trend to come out of the 90s is the “grunge” look. Dirty, dark and messy with a heavy emphasis on smoky eyes and deep, matte lips, both in warm earth tones.

I know this trend has been around for awhile now, but I think it still has legs heading into the fall season. Going through my collection, I decided I wanted to do a look centered around Kat Von D’s Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Lolita. I’ve had the regular bullet lipstick version of Lolita for years, it’s a warm dusty rose shade. The liquid lip version is much browner and darker on me. It’s a little intense, but I like the way it looks. I think it’s the perfect product to center around a 90’s style grunge look.

90s Grunge

90s Grunge

I think if I did this again, I would use less shimmery highlight and maybe contour a little bit more. It’s really hard to break the highlight habit! I like to SHINE BRIGHT LIKE A DIAMOND rather than smell like teen spirit. Obviously, since this is my version, it’s significantly more glam and not dirty. But anyway, it’s just inspired by the movement.

I used Naked Basics on my eyes.

I used Naked Basics on my eyes.

Here’s the product list.

Face

Eyes

Lips

I guess I'll Stick Around this Runaway Train that Smells Like Teen Spirit in a Possum Kingdom.

I guess I’ll Stick Around this Runaway Train that Smells Like Teen Spirit in a Possum Kingdom.

As always, thanks for reading! Let me know in the comments if there’s anything specific you want to see in future posts!

One thought on “90s Grunge Inspired

Leave a Reply

