Products out of their packaging

Play! By Sephora Beauty Box Review

Ok, I know I said just a couple of months ago that I wasn’t into subscription beauty boxes. Well, that was before I was taken off the wait list for Play! By Sephora for the November box. For me, this box outshines the others in that all the products featured in each box can all be found at Sephora. So no random black liners from brands you’ve never heard of or inflated product values.

Outside packaging, once removed from the shipping box.

Outside packaging, once removed from the shipping box.

Play! By Sephora is Sephora’s own take on subscription beauty boxes. It’s still in beta mode, having just started in September. It’s currently in test markets, but expect to see it roll out nationwide in early 2016. You can sign up for the wait list here. And the best part is that it’s only $10 a month! The same price as Ipsy and Birchbox, but you get better, higher quality products AND points are added to your Beauty Insider/VIB/Rouge account.

Inside the box, there's a small pamphlet explaining each product and a card to scan in-store for more informaiton.

Inside the box, there’s a small pamphlet explaining each product and a card to scan in-store for more information.

The November Play! box was themed with Sephora exclusive brands. When I found that out, I was SO EXCITED. This was an awesome first box! Check it out after the jump.

Products inside!

Products inside!

Products out of their packaging

Products out of their packaging

Products included:

Make Up For Ever primer

Make Up For Ever primer

First up is the Make Up Β For Ever primer. I have heard nothing but great things for MUFE’s line of primers. I believe they released a total of 10 different primers, each with a specific focus earlier this year. It’s a hydrating formula, which is perfect for me because I have dry-to-normal skin, but with cold weather coming, it’s going to be super dry. The pamphlet says that this can be used under makeup or even in place of foundation as it creates “sheer coverage” (lol at beauty terminology) for casual days.

Bite Beauty pencil

Bite Beauty pencil

Oh man, this is the one I was most excited about. I have been eyeing Bite Beauty products since forever, but have yet to commit to anything. What I think separates Bite Beauty from any other brand is their use of food-grade pigments and ingredients. It even has anti-oxidants like resveratrol (which now I think of Brooks Ayrs from RHOC and his fake cancer and how he said resveratrol injections were curing his fake cancer. Ha!) ANYWAY, this is a perfect my-lips-but-better shade and also a generously sized deluxe sample.

Buxom lip cream

Buxom lip cream

I’ve never actually tried any of Buxom’s products, nor have ever really looked at their line at Sephora. I have pretty full lips to begin with, so I’ve never really sought out lip plumping products. However, I do love this shade and I think it complements the Bite Beauty pencil nicely. I can’t wait to pair them together for a polished look.

Sephora Collection eye liner

Sephora Collection eye liner

Blue eye liner seems to have no grey area. You either love it or think it’s outdated and tacky. I happen to love it. Blue eye liner is PERFECT for brown eyes and I love this sparkly bright navy shade.

Josie Maran Argan Oil

Josie Maran Argan Oil

This could not have come at a more perfect time. Like I said above. cold weather is coming to Texas soon and my skin dries out like whoa. A product like this is not normally something I would buy for myself, but I look forward to mixing this oil into my foundation for extra glow and hydration. It comes with a dropper, so it will be perfect for getting just the right amount. This is also a generously sized deluxe sample as you will only need one or two drops at a time.

Stella McCartney Perfume

Stella McCartney Perfume

Last but not least is Stella McCartney’s Stella perfume. I actually didn’t realize that this was a Sephora exclusive. I have smelled this scent in the past, but have never received a sample. It’s a beautiful rose floral with amber, peony and mandarin notes.

Swatches! L-R: Bite Beauty lip pencil, Buxom lip cream, Sephora Collection eye liner, Make Up For Ever primer

Swatches! L-R: Bite Beauty lip pencil, Buxom lip cream, Sephora Collection eye liner, Make Up For Ever primer

GAH! This was such a great box and an amazing value.There’s approximately $39 worth of product for $10 and products that I will actually use and maybe even purchase full sizes in the future.

I’m so excited for December’s box!

Leave a Reply

