Sephora Beauty Class - Nighttime Smoky Eye

Sephora Beauty Class Review: Nighttime Smoky Eyes

Happy Holidays and Happy New Year! I did not do a very good job of churning out new content like I had planned for my break, but I’ve got this post and hopefully a couple more drafted to come out in the next couple of weeks.

Anyway, earlier in December I attended my very first Sephora Beauty Class and it was SO MUCH FUN. The beauty classes have been slowly debuting across the states and they have finally reached San Antonio at the end of the 2015. Basically, a Sephora Beauty Class is a free class offered by your local store and each class focuses on a technique or look. Topics include highlight and contour, perfect lips and cheeks, daytime smoky eye and false lash application, among others. Check out the link for the classes nearest you!

View of the class

View of the class

I went to the NIghttime Smoky Eye because A) who doesn’t love a smoky eye and B) it was a Sunday evening and I didn’t have anything planned. They do recommend signing up ahead of time but in my particular class, we had a couple walk-ins that were able to be accommodated. To me, the best part of the experience is that the class is scheduled outside of store hours, so it’s just the attendees of the class and the Sephora team and you get the WHOLE STORE to yourself. There were chairs set up near the front and tables with mirrors and tools around the perimeter and all attendees were provided with a folder that had instructions for the look we would be doing. I came with my foundation and brows already done and I brought my own mascara and a couple lip products to finish the look (for sanitation reasons).

View of the class

View of the class

One Sephora makeup artist would demonstrate, step by step, the look on another Sephora artist and then we would be sent off to our own stations to do steps 1-3 or 4-6 on ourselves. Any product you want to use is available to you! And the Sephora team will sanitize it all for you to use.

Makeup station

Makeup station

In this class, we did two different styles (one on each eye): a classic smoldering smoky eye and a dramatic cut crease. Corey, the artist that lead the class, was informative, fun and a great instructor. He really broke down the techniques into simple steps for even the most beginner of makeup users.

Corey demonstrating eyeshadow placement.

Corey applying eyeshadow primer.

All in all, the class was just so much fun. I enjoyed connecting with the staff and really getting a chance to play with products that I didn’t own or were out of my budget, instead of just swatching on my hand when I’m shopping. They do take the opportunity to pull product for you to purchase, but I didn’t feel like any of them were pushy. Special shout-out to Som, who offered to take pictures for me!

A few more pictures (I was using my iPhone, so apologies for the quality and lighting) after the jump.

Brush kit provided for each person

Brush kit provided for each person

I DIED over this brush kit! So great, until I looked up the price.:/ $445! It was incredibly hard to not pack it up into my purse.

Trying not to look awkward

Trying not to look awkward

Also trying not to look awkward

Also trying not to look awkward

Classic Smoky look

Classic Smoky look

Classic Smoky look

Classic Smoky look

Dramatic Cut Crease Smoky Look

Dramatic Cut Crease Smoky Look

Dramatic Cut Crease Smoky Look

Dramatic Cut Crease Smoky Look

Ugh, I loved this palette. These are great quality eyeshadows

Ugh, I loved this palette. These are great quality eyeshadows

Make Up For Ever 15 Artist Shadow Palette – I used this for both looks, specifically the dark shade in the center for the Classic look and the bronze shade on the bottom row for the Dramatic Cut Crease.

I might actually purchase this in the near future.

I might actually purchase this in the near future.

Kat Von D Shade + Light Eye Contour Palette – I used this palette for my crease, transition and brow highlight. Great quality, very smooth and easy to blend. I think I like it better than my Naked Basics.

My new makeup bestie!

My photographer and new friend!

This is Som! If you’re in San Antonio, you can find her at Sephora North Star.

So a big shout-out to everyone at Sephora North Star, everyone was so friendly and fun and I know I had a blast running around the store trying everything on my face even though I looked cray with two different eye shadow looks.

One thought on “Sephora Beauty Class Review: Nighttime Smoky Eyes

Leave a Reply

