IMG_4234

Tony Moly Sheet Masks Review aka How to Spa at Home

One of the newest trends floating around online is Korean skincare, colloquially known as K-Beauty. It’s been a hit overseas and is slowly but surely making it’s way stateside. There is a whole, intense 10+-step(!) daily skincare routine, but we are just going to focus on one product today. K-Beauty is also known for using funky ingredients, like snails, eggs and seaweed, but for also having super cute packaging.

Tony Moly Sheet Masks

Tony Moly Sheet Masks

Recently at my local Ulta, I found sheet masks from one of the most popular and affordable K-Beauty brands, Tony Moly. I picked up the three types they had in stock (there’s even more on Tony Moly’s website) which were each priced at $3.75.

Let’s check them out!

I love masks in general! Sheet masks are super convenient in that all you do is open the package, slap it on and relax. Rinsing your face afterward is not even needed, as you can go straight to bed and let the serums from the mask absorb into your skin.

I tried three masks from Tony Moly, all the from the “I’m Real” line: Red Wine for Pore Care, Makegeolli for Skin Purifying and Aloe for Moisture.

Wine for your face? Yes, please.

Wine for your face? Yes, please.

I tried the Red Wine mask first out of the group. Unfortunately, it didn’t actually smell like wine, but it does have a pleasant spa-like scent. What surprised me most of all was how saturated it was, so you definitely get your money’s worth of serum. This particular mask claims that it isΒ “formulated with red wine extract to reduce the appearance of enlarged pores while tightening and purifying skin, giving you a healthier looking complexion in as little as 20 minutes.”

Backside of package

Backside of package

I don’t really think I have enlarged pores, but my skin definitely felt cleaner and more supple after using this. I masked in the evening, probably about an hour before I went to bed. I left it on for about 25 minutes and after I peeled it off, I let the remaining serum on my skin absorb instead of washing it off (I actually did this with all three). It felt a little sticky at first before it dried, but by the next morning, I could really feel a difference in my skin and the stickiness was gone.

Makgeolli Mask

Um, not sure what makgeolli is…

The next I tried was the Makgeolli Mask, which is described as a “3-layer pulp sheet is filled with aloe extract and an enriched water-based essence that yields maximum hydration with moisturizing effects for your skin.”

Backside

Backside

So this is supposed to make your skin feel “radiant and glowing.” I don’t think I got radiant and glowing afterward, but it sure felt good and more moisturizing than the red wine.

Aloe always feels nice.

Aloe always feels nice.

The last that I tried was the Aloe mask, which “is filled with aloe extract and an enriched water-based essence that yields maximum hydration with moisturizing effects for your skin.”

Backside

Backside

I believe this was my favorite out of the bunch and what I really look for in a sheet mask. I have dry-to-normal skin year-round, but in the winter (even though it’s not even that cold in S. Texas at the moment) just dries the crap out of it. So this felt really nice and gave me a nice boost of much needed moisture.

Yikes! Also, just FYI, there's not much you can do with your face when you've got a sheet mask on.

Yikes! Also, just FYI, there’s not much you can do with your face when you’ve got a sheet mask on.

I love these so much! They are still online, but I haven’t seen in-store at my local Ulta since I bought them so I don’t know what’s going on with that. Anyway, I recently made an online Ulta order and got another Tony Moly I’m Real mask to try – Avocado! I’m really excited about that one.

I totally recommend trying the Tony Moly or any sheet mask sometime. It’s a great way to “treat yo-self” at home while Netflixing or relaxing.

One thought on “Tony Moly Sheet Masks Review aka How to Spa at Home

Leave a Reply

