So many colors!

Urban Decay’s XX Vice LTD Reloaded – Going Deep into the Archives!

Can you believe Urban Decay is already celebrating it’s 20th anniversary?! And they are kicking off their birthday year with this gorgeous Ulta-exclusive palette – The XX Vice LTD Reloaded.

IT'S SO PRETTY.

IT’S SO PRETTY.

This palette is a mixture of new and classic UD shades and at first glance, it looks totally random but it really all works nicely together. And while the new colors are gorgeous, I’m totally here for the classic shades. I ended up purchasing this palette using my Ulta rewards points ($50 worth!) and only paid about $6 out of pocket for it. I also think it is a great companion to my UD 15th Anniversary palette. That said, this will probably be the last big UD palette that I will buy. It’s the perfect capstone to complete my collection.

Is that a chorus of angels I hear?

Is that a chorus of angels I hear?

This is a long post with a lot of pictures, just FYI. Let’s jump in!

Like I mentioned above, Vice LTD Reloaded contains a lot of vintage UD shades going all the way back to 1996. Some of these I’ve owned in older palettes, some are new to me. A few years ago, with the introduction of the first Vice palette in 2012 (one of my first blog posts!) UD introduced their Pigment Infusion system – ” a vehicle for color that holds tightly to pigment and gives the formula its glide.” Most of the UD palettes I own are older than that, so I decided to do some swatch and comparison, just to see how the Pigment Infusion formula stacks up against the older formula and it was really surprising! All the swatches below are on bare skin, no primer underneath.

So many colors!

So many colors!

First up is Hot Pants, a “pearly medium pink.” I actually used to own this shade back in the super old-school single packaging (probably circa 2002?) and I think I only got rid of it within the  last couple of years. However, it is also in an old Face Case I bought during my college years called Rockstar. It’s probably about 10 years old, but I can’t bear to throw it out even though it is too old to use on my face.

Rockstar Face Case

Rockstar Face Case

Rockstar Hot Pants on left; Vice Hot Pants on Right

Rockstar Hot Pants on left; Vice Hot Pants on Right

Anyway, these two are basically identical. I literally could not tell any difference in texture, color or pigmentation. So good on you UD. In the pic above, Vice Hot Pants looks a little bit lighter and cooler in tone, but honestly in person I couldn’t even see that.

Working through the Rockstar Face Case, I tested Asphyxia next. This shade I hold near and dear to my heart as it was my introduction to UD back in 2001. San Antonio’s first Sephora had just opened at North Star Mall and my mom took me there to get makeup for my junior prom. Asphyxia eyeshadow and Lip Gunk were the perfect complement to my dress. UD describes it as “hyacinth shimmer with blue shift.”

Rockstar Asphyxia on left; Vice Asphyxia on right

Rockstar Asphyxia on left; Vice Asphyxia on right

So my old version of Asphyxia is waaay creamier and pigmented. The Vice version has a drier feel, with little pigment. I really had to build it up and I still couldn’t get it up to the level of the older version. I think the Vice one need a sticky or opaque base to really shine. But it would work great as a layering color over something else. Asphyxia looks great over a black base (something I used to wear frequently when I was 18).

Rockstar Oil Slick on left; Vice Oil Slick on right

Rockstar Oil Slick on left; Vice Oil Slick on right

Lastly in the Rockstar Face Case is Oil Slick. This shade was actually the inspiration for the Vice 4 palette that came out over the holidays. Swatching these, the old version is dry-feeling, which is what I remember, but the glitter is colorful and reminiscent of it’s name. The new version is still dry-feeling, although not as much, but it seems to lack the colorful glitter. UD does describe it as “black matte with silver micro-glitter.” I wonder why they changed it to silver…

Side Show Face Case

Side Show Face Case

Ok, next oldie palette is the Side Show Face Case. This is another one I bought sometime in college, probably circa 2004 or so. I really love the colors in this and I wish UD would bring back that dark purple and the blush on the far right.

Side Show Acid Rain on left; Vice Acid Rain on right.

Side Show Acid Rain on left; Vice Acid Rain on right.

Now we’re comparing Acid Rain, “pale yellow-green shimmer with green shift.” As with Asphyxia, this has the same differences in that the old version is really creamy and pigmented and the new one is drier and thinner. It will definitely need a sticky or opaque base to really shine.

Book of Shadows Volume I

Book of Shadows Volume I

Now here comes the classic, ubiquitous, love-it-or-hate-it shade Midnight Cowboy. UD used to run with this back in the day.  There used to be Midnight Cowboy, Midnight Cowboy Rides Again, Midnight Cowgirl AND Midnight Rodeo (although that last one might have been a 15th Anniversary palette exclusive). When I was in high school, I used it as an inner corner highlight and would also layer over black liner on my lower lash line. I think I used to line my eyes all the way around, including the tear duct. Anyway, I thought it looked really cool at the time.

BOS Vol. I Midnight Cowboy on left; Vice Midnight Cowboy on right.

BOS Vol. I Midnight Cowboy on left; Vice Midnight Cowboy on right.

Midnight Cowboy is “pink champagne shimmer with silver glitter.” I’m using the Book of Shadows I for this comparison, circa 2009. The BOS palettes were the precurser to the current line of Vice palettes. Anyway, the old version feels drier with more fallout and chunkier glitter. The new version looks like it has less pink, but it does hold together better and the glitter seems to be finer. It’s a little less of the glitterbomb than it used to be. Like, instead of atomic blast level bomb, we’re at a TNT explosion.

Can you tell I like this palette?

Can you tell I like this palette?

Smog is another frequently featured shade. If it sounds familiar, it’s because it’s in the original Naked palette. For these swatches, I included Smog from BOS Vol. I and Naked because A) I was curious and B) I figured more people have the Naked palette than BOS Vol. I and that it would be helpful. My Naked palette was purchased in 2009 or 2010, whenever UD included the double-ended eyeliner pencil rather than the eyeshadow brush.

BOS Vol. 1 Smog on left; Vice Smog center; Naked Smog on right.

BOS Vol. 1 Smog on left; Vice Smog center; Naked Smog on right.

The BOS Vol. I and Vice Smogs feel and look very similar.. The Vice Smog is barely a smidgen lighter in tone and perhaps a bit more golden. The BOS Vol. I Smog is a little more chocolate brown. The Naked Smog felt much drier and stiff than the other two and it seems to have a little less shimmer and is more bronze. But really, all three are very close in color and the differences will be mostly imperceptible in an eye look.

Book of Shadows Volume II

Book of Shadows Volume II

Moving on, next is Twice Baked and we’re using the Book of Shadows Volume II circa 2010. I’ve had two or three Twice Baked’s the in the past, and while it’s pretty in the pan, it’s always been sort of dry and hard to work with. I would only use it as an outer corner darkener. Twice Baked is “rich brown satin with gold-microglitter.”

BOS Vol. II Twice Baked on left; Vice Twice Baked on right.

BOS Vol. II Twice Baked on left; Vice Twice Baked on right.

This swatch was so surprising! I couldn’t believe how different they looked. It seriously looks like two totally different eyeshadows and if I hadn’t done the swatches myself, I wouldn’t believe that both of these are Twice Baked. The old version is noticeably creamier and the sparkle is a touch more apparent. The new version, the sparkle is almost nonexistant and the color is a lot lighter and drier.

BOS Vol. II Misdemeanor on left; Vice Misdemeanor on right.

BOS Vol. II Misdemeanor on left; Vice Misdemeanor on right.

Lastly, we have Misdemeanor which is also out of the BOS II palette. Misdemeaner is “deep olive green matte with green mico-shimmer.” I always really loved this shade, but it was one of those I always think I should use way more often than I do and then I just don’t. I don’t have a reason why! Anyway, the old version is darker and creamier while the new one is drier, sheerer and looks cooler in tone. Again, this is similar to Acid Rain and Asphyxia with the level of pigment and texture.

In  conclusion and in regards to all of these swatches, when I say that the Vice shades feel drier I don’t mean it in a bad way. I don’t think the  Vice shadows are of any less quality and although they feel dry compared to the old formula, they are definitely not chalky or powdery. I think that this newer formula is more tightly packed and dense than its former counterpart. With the duo-tone satin shades, they definitely need a little bit of help from Fix+ or a good sticky or opaque base.

So to wrap all of this up, here are some looks I did using Vice LTD. Reloaded!

Natural(ish) and daytime appropriate!

Natural(ish) and daytime appropriate!

I was (no joke) on my way to a modeling gig!

I was (no joke) on my way to a modeling gig for my friend’s shop

Face

Eyes

Lips

Denim smoky eye

Denim smoky eye

So blue!

So blue.

Face

Eyes

Lips

Thank you for sticking around this suuuuper long post. I was initially going to do a basic swatch post, but I thought I’d do something different and utilize my archive. It was so fun! Let me know if you’d like to see more stuff like this!

3 thoughts on “Urban Decay’s XX Vice LTD Reloaded – Going Deep into the Archives!

Leave a Reply

