I legit use this nearly every day.

The Favorites: L’Oreal True Match Lumi Healthy Luminous Makeup

I apologize for not getting a post up last Friday! Last week at work was super busy, with two deadlines and I have an event happening on Monday AND I spent this weekend trying to catch up on the Oscar nominated movies (as I’m writing this, it’s 10 minutes till the ceremony starts and I’ve seen all the Best Picture nominees except Spotlight!). Anyway, moving on…

Today is another installment of The Favorites, semi-regular posts featuring single-product focuses on my favorites pieces in my collection, the ones I reach for and wear time and again. The Favorites are all products I’ve purchased myself and are considered permanent items in their respective brands.

I legit use this nearly every day.

I legit use this nearly every day.

Today’s focus is on L’Oreal’s True Match Lumi foundation. Back in college through a couple years after, I used the OG True Match makeup religiously. I don’t remember why I ever stopped using it other than just wanting to experiment with other brands and formulas. But I never tried the Lumi version until late last year and I’ve been hooked ever since.

For me, it’s the perfect everyday foundation. This is what I wear day-to-day, always to work and sometimes on the weekend too, if I’m not skipping foundation entirely or going for a different look with my MAC Matchmaster. No joke, I’m on my third bottle already. It feels so light on, with a light coverage but you can build it up to medium. I probably would not suggest this for oily-skinned as it is a hydrating and luminous finish, but it is perfect for us dry-skinned people. Even though we’ve had an incredibly mild winter in Texas this year, my skin never felt dry or tight while wearing this.

Two pics of the same swatch, with and without flash. Left is unblended, right is blended.

Two pics of the same swatch, with and without flash. Left is unblended, right is blended. This is the shade W3 Nude Beige.

I find that this does need to be set with powder and I’ve tried several and most seem to work pretty well, including NYX Mineral Setting Powder, Rimmel Stay Matte pressed powder and MAC Mineralize SkinFinish Natural. Right now, I just picked up a tub of Coty Airspun loose powder but I’m still testing and figuring out how I feel on that one.

Below are some recent pictures I’ve featured on the blog where I’m wearing True Match Lumi foundation.

What I like most about this is that my skin still shines through, it isn’t hiding beneath a layer of thick makeup. Like I said above, it’s great for everyday and for work. I’m interested in trying the new cushion version of True Match Lumi, too! Maybe I’ll do that for a future post.

Untitled

Leave a Reply

