Clinique Superbalm Moisturizing Lipgloss in Black Honey

Nude Lip Kick

Hi ya’ll! I don’t know about anyone else, but with makeup I definitely go through phases constantly. There’s the bright lip phase, the smoky eye phase, the winged liner phase, the blue eyeliner phase… it goes on and on, depending on who knows what. So right now, I’m in the middle of a glossy nude lip phase! I know, exciting right? These are the little things that get me through the week.

What’s funny is that while I was formulating this post in my head, Jaclyn Hill posted this on Snapchat and Instagram:

The only nudes you will get from me… Well, lipstick too. 👠💄 Snapchat – Jaclynrhill👻

A photo posted by J A C L Y N 😜 (@jaclynhill) on

 

And then, here’s a Snap I sent today:

See a pattern?

#makeupaddictproblems

Ha! And that’s only about three days worth of lip stuff.

Anyway, here’s the lineup of what I’ve been digging the last week or two.

The suspects

The suspects

Warm, pretty and goes with everything!

ColourPop Lippie Stix and Pencil in Frida

ColourPop Lippie Stix and Pencil in Frida

I LOVE ColourPop! Everything is top-notch quality and for amazing prices. Frida is one of their satin-finish Lippie Stix and it’s a warm pinky-nude. It looks more orange in the tube, but it applies with more of a pink tone. I think this is one of those shades that’s going to look a little different on everyone. I do suggest using the pencil to line and fill in your lips before – the Lippie Stix can be a little streaky on it’s own and the pencil gives it something to hang onto on your lips.

Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in Protest

Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in Protest

Protest, from Urban Decay’s Revolution Lipstick line, is just the prettiest peachy nude. This was one of the first nude lipsticks I tried that I actually fell in love with. Despite the title and focus of this post, I don’t typically gravitate towards nudes! Anyway, Protest was definitely the gateway nude lip that helped me figure out what looks best with my skintone. This particular shade is only available on UD’s website (I got it as part of a discounted Black Friday set a couple years ago), but it’s in the Revolution formula which has a solid and comfortable wear time on the lips, with a satin finish.

Clinique Superbalm Moisturizing Lipgloss in Black Honey

Clinique Superbalm Moisturizing Gloss in Black Honey

Black Honey! This shade is such a cornerstone in Clinique’s lineup. Most people are familiar with Black Honey in the Almost Lipstick formula. I like the Superbalm gloss, because it really does moisturize while giving a high-gloss finish. I’ve never had to use a lip balm underneath. It’s just sheer enough for your natural lip color to come through, but adds color so you’re not completely dead looking. I truly believe that this is a shade with the potential to be universally flattering. And it goes with everything! From bare face to full glam, I’ve used it in every situation.

Urban Decay Revolution Lipgloss in Kinky

Urban Decay Revolution Lipgloss in Kinky

My love for Urban Decay! Their Revolution lipglosses are AMAZING. Tons of pigment, not sticky and with great staying power! I love Kinky because it’s a pinky nude that, once again, goes with everything. Sometimes I’ll pair it with a lip liner (any nude or mauve will do ) and sometimes when I want something a touch darker, I’ll use Wet n Wild’s lip liner in Brandy Wine. Kinky is a great choice for smoky eyes.

NYX Slim Lip Pencil in Mauve with Buxom's Full-On Lip Cream in White Russian.

NYX Slim Lip Pencil in Mauve with Buxom’s Full-On Lip Cream in White Russian

So the Buxom Full-On Lip Creams are a  recent love of mine. I only tried it in my first Play! by Sephora box and I loved it so much I bought another shade. I’m addicted to the tingly, minty feeling! It took me awhile to love it, but now I can’t get enough. White Russian is a cooler toned nude pink and I like pairing with the NYX’s Slim Lip Pencil in Mauve (which is such a staple liner, I use it constantly with a lot of different lip products). If White Russian is too pale for you, Dolly is a darker, mauve-ier tone that’s I also love.

And that’s it for my recent nude lip loves! I know a lot of these are really glossy but that’s just what I’ve been loving recently. I think the matte lip trending is fading out and gloss is coming back! Maybe, don’t quote me on that😉

Untitled

 

 

3 thoughts on “Nude Lip Kick

Leave a Reply

