The contents

Play! by Sephora – March Box Review

Damn Sephora! Back at it again with an awesome box! (I AM SO SORRY, I couldn’t resist).

March's Box Theme

March’s Box Theme

The theme for March’s Play! box is The Perfection Collection, with Sephora collecting their “favorite” products to entice us to play with new formulas and techniques.

The contents

The contents

Very nice! Lots of great products in here, including several things I’ve been wanting to try but had not gotten around to yet.

Products included:

Reviews to follow after the jump!

Murad Invisiblur Perfecting Shield

Murad Invisiblur Perfecting Shield

Murad’s Invisiblur Perfecting Shield is a dual-action product that is a “silky-smooth, innovative sunscreen (that) protects your skin with broad-spectrum SPF 30 while also multi-tasking as a moisturizer and primer.” It has a texture that is very similar to the original Smashbox Photo Finish primer, sort of silicone-y and smooth. I did not find it to be moisturizing at all and thought it was just ok as a primer. However, I do enjoy using it on days that I don’t wear foundation as it already has SPF in it and it is pore-blurring and smoothing. Now, I would not wear this if I knew I would be spending a lot of time outside but for a regular day running errands or just tooling around the house, it’s fine. It feels very smooth on and a little bit goes a long way. I’ve used this about three or four times already and I’ve barely put a dent in the tiny bottle.

Fresh Soy Face Cleanser

Fresh Soy Face Cleanser

I have so enjoyed trying skincare items from Fresh, their products are effective, smell good and just feel so nice! I got the Soy Face Cleanser this month and it is actually one of the choices for the Sephora Beauty Insider Birthday Gift this year. This is a gel-based cleanser, that contains soy proteins (to keep skin supple), rosewater (balancing skintone) and cucumber extract (soothes and calms) and is “ideal for sensitive skin.” It has a light, fresh scent that isn’t heavy and although it isn’t a super foamy formula, my skin feels quite clean and fresh afterward. It also doesn’t sting my eyes, so it’s safe for removing eye makeup as well. I would definitely consider purchasing this in a full-size, I’ve really enjoyed using it.

Sephora The Perfectionist: Airbrush Sponge

Sephora The Perfectionist: Airbrush Sponge

This was quite a surprise to find in my box this month! This is a Sephora brand makeup sponge, very similar to the beautyblender in that it needs to be dampened with water to use. I found this one to be softer and squishier than the beautyblender, but functionally I can get the same result with it and BONUS it’s only $12 instead of $20. I used this sponge to apply foundation, concealer and setting powder. Unfortunately, I did not care for the shape of it. I found when using the smaller end on my undereye area, the bulbous middle part would rub against my cheekbone. This is where I think the beautyblender is better, because it’s teardrop shape prevents that. But if you don’t want to splurge for a BB, this Sephora sponge is a great dupe.

Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Oil

Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Oil

Smashbox has absolutely cornered the market on primers. Their newest offering is their Photo Finish Primer Oil, which is “infused with a blend of 15 essential and lipid-rich plant oils to moisturize the face for seamless foundation application and a dewy, youthful finish.” I found this to be a decent facial oil, but honestly it is nothing to write home about. It left my skin with a little bit of tack, so makeup has something to stick to but I never felt overly oily or greasy which is good. However, I believe you can achieve the same result with any other oil at a lower price point or even one of the other Photo Finish primers. This really seems more like a regular facial oil that’s been rebranded as a “primer.”

Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper

Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper

I was so excited to see this in my box this month! For whatever reason, I’ve never tried Kat Von D’s much loved and hyped Tattoo Liner. I’ve used Make Up For Ever, Urban Decay, MAC, L’Oreal, gel, liquid, felt tip, etc. etc., but have never found a liquid liner I loved until this one and I feel like an idiot for not trying it sooner! This is a waterproof formula with an innovative brush tip that allows you to get a perfectly fine line and wing.

Close-up of the brush tip.

Close-up of the brush tip.

The brush tip is so smooth and so finely tipped that it just glides along Β and gives the perfect sharp wing. I’ve always struggled with winged liner (#hoodedeyeproblems) but this makes it SO EASY. And best of all, it’s super waterproof as in it can actually hold up to my super watery, allergy eyes. This actually came at a great time because it’s oak pollen season in South Texas and apparently it’s the worst one in about 20 years and my eyes have been Feeling It and this is still going strong and black at the end of the day.

Swatch of Tattoo Liner in Trooper

Swatch of Tattoo Liner in Trooper

Out of all the Play! boxes I’ve received so far, this is the first item I’ve purchased in full-size. Mostly because I’ve wearing this nearly every day for the last couple of weeks and my Beauty Insider 10% off spring coupon came at the right time!

Maison Martin Margiela Replica fragrance in Beach Walk

Maison Martin Margiela Replica fragrance in Beach Walk

This is the other item I was so excited to try! I’ve been eyeing these Replica fragrances from Maison Martin Margiela for months, especially Beach Walk. I love anything that is beachy or coconut scented, it is my favorite summer scent hands-down. Beach Walk is FANTASTIC. The Replica line of fragrances are formulated to reproduce “familiar scents and moments of varying locations and periods.” Beach Walk has notes of bergamot, pink pepper, lemon, ylang ylang, coconut milk, heliotrope, musk, cedarwood and benzoin. I can pick out the coconut, musk and cedarwood, but the other notes keep it from smelling like sunscreen or a tropical drink. It is sophisticated and feminine. My only complaint is that it fades fairly quickly and I believe that’s because it’s an Eau de Toilette rather than an Eau de Parfum, which is the only strength it’s available in. I still want to pick this up at some point though, along with Lipstick On, Jazz Club and Flower Market Β (seriously, I’m obsessed with the whole line).

Foundation sample clamshell

Foundation sample clamshell

Lastly, the Play! box included a foundation sample clamshell so that I could visit the store to get match through their Color iQ system. I haven’t done this yet as I’m not really in the market for a new foundation at the moment and you can basically get a foundation sample at any time. I have been matched by the Color iQ system in the past and it’s a cool system! I think they’ve upgraded since I got it done, since that was a few years ago.

So that’s it for March’s box, thanks for reading!

Untitled

4 thoughts on “Play! by Sephora – March Box Review

  1. Diana, Down Home Traveler says:

    I love seeing what comes in these boxes each month and exposes you to something you may not have tried!

Leave a Reply

