This month's contents.

Play! by Sephora – April Box Review

Let’s just get right to it.

Play! by Sephora April Box

Play! by Sephora April Box

The theme for April’s Play box is to “pull off the season’s latest trends with this cool collection of it-girl items, innovative formulas and brands that are having a moment.”

This month's contents.

This month’s contents.

I’ve been so happy with this subscription to date, even if this box was just so-so.

Products included:

Reviews to follow after the jump!

Milk Makeup Sunshine Oil

Milk Makeup Sunshine Oil

MILK Makeup is a new brand to hit Sephora and it is all about multi-tasking products. I’m a little bummed that out of the entire product line, all they could send a sample of was an oil but oh well. Anyway, Sunshine Oil is a “citrusy blend of eight moisturizing oils for hydrating your face, body and hair.” I did try this on the ends of my hair, because they were feeling a bit dry and fried. It was ok? Smells very orangey and fresh but I didn’t think it made a noticeable difference. Unfortunately, while I was cleaning my bathroom, I accidentally knocked the sample packet into the toilet which was full of cleaner. I wasn’t sure how secure the screw-top was and since I had already opened it, I threw it out after fishing it out of the toilet😦 so I only got to try it the one time. But it looks like on the website that the oil comes in a roller-ball, so that might make it a little more user friendly especially if you are applying it on your body.

Sunday Riley Good Genes Treatment

Sunday Riley Good Genes Treatment

Sunday Riley is a new-to-me brand, so I’m not quite sure how long it’s been at Sephora or what they’re about. The Good Genes Treatment is a lactic-acid based product that “brightens, exfoliates, plumps lines, evens hyperpigmentation and increases circulation for instant radiance.” The directions say you can use it as a serum or as a leave-on mask. I’ve been applying it at night under my moisturizer. It’s a little runny and has a nice, botanical scent that isn’t too strong but honestly? I can’t tell a difference in my skin. My face definitely feels softer in the morning. This sounds so extra to say, but my skin has been in a really good place the last couple of months (been using a lot of coconut oil lately in my evening routine) so maybe that’s why I can’t see a noticeable difference. If you are looking for a product that addresses the above concerns, than I would suggest seeking out a sample.

Clinique Pep-Start Eye Cream

Clinique Pep-Start Eye Cream

I was so excited to see this in my box this month! I’ve been seeing it make the rounds on social media and anything that claims to make dark circles look better is something I want to try. The Pep-Start Eye Cream is supposed to provide instant hydration and brightening to the undereyes with a blend of seven peptides. Well. So far it’s a nice eye cream. I can’t see a difference, but maybe my hereditary dark circles are just too much to deal with for this cream. But also I’m thinking that maybe the applicator on the full-size is different than the sample? I tried to apply from the sample applicator but it’s just too small so I end up just squeezing a bit on my finger and just rubbing it in. Eh.

NARS Satin Lip Pencil in Rikugien

NARS Satin Lip Pencil in Rikugien

Ok, so this lip pencil was one half of last year’s Beauty Insider Birthday Gift. If you picked up your free Sephora gift last year, then you already own this. While I’m happy to have a backup, I’m a bit annoyed that this is the third time Sephora has included a Beauty Insider Birthday Gift in the Play! box. Anyway, it’s a nice MLBB shade with a bit of sparkle in a satin finish.

Sephora Collection Colorful Cheek Ink Blush in Peony

Sephora Collection Colorful Cheek Ink Blush in Peony

This was an interesting item to include this month, as it’s something I would pass by in the store. In the summer or on days I don’t wear a lot of makeup, I really enjoy cream blushes. This is a little different in that it’s gel-based. I was afraid it would be super pigmented and hard to blend out, but it’s really not at all. The Colorful Cheek blush is very buildable with a luminous but natural finish. It can be blended with fingers, a duo-fiber brush or a sponge like a beautyblender.

Derek Lam 10 Crosby 2AM Kiss Eau de Parfum

Derek Lam 10 Crosby 2AM Kiss Eau de Parfum

This new Derek Lam perfume was absolutely my favorite item this month. Remember a couple of months back when I talked about how much I love Tom Ford’s Black Orchid perfume but I wished it lasted longer? Derek Lam’s 2AM Kiss is everything I was Black Orchid to be. I LOVE IT SO MUCH. It’s heady, heavy and romantic and lasts forever. It has crazy sillage and is something that could be someone’s signature scent. It has notes of “salty caramel and crystallized amber,” but there’s more there that I can’t quite pick out. The first time I wore it, I could smell it on my wrist 12 HOURS LATER. That’s insane. I don’t think that this is a fragrance for everyone, but those that enjoy scents with character will love this.

Swatches: Sephora Collection Ink Blush on left; NARS Satin Lip Pencil on right

Swatches: Sephora Collection Ink Blush on left; NARS Satin Lip Pencil on right

Lastly, here are some swatches of the blush and the lip pencil. I heavily applied the blush on the left so you could see the color. When it’s blended out, it’s much more subtle.

So that’s it for April’s box, thanks for reading!

Untitled

2 thoughts on “Play! by Sephora – April Box Review

Leave a Reply

