Maybelline Color Sensational Vivid Matte Liquid Lipstick Rebel Red Nude Flush

Influenster Review: Maybelline Color Sensational Vivid Matte Liquid Lipsticks

Hey, I’m back! This week, I’ve got a review of the new Maybelline Color Sensational Vivid Matte Liquid Lipsticks.* So yes, the liquid lipstick trend is still GOING STRONG.

Maybelline Color Sensational Vivid Matte Liquid Lipsticks

Maybelline Color Sensational Vivid Matte Liquid Lipsticks

Maybelline claims that “this creamy formula is incredibly comfortable and glides easily onto lips for a smooth feel upon application and a velvety finish once dry. The result is full coverage and an intense rich lip look.” I was sent two colors, Nude Flush and Rebel Red, and these are available to purchase at Ulta, Amazon or any other Maybelline retailer.

Rebel Red on left, Nude Flush on right

Rebel Red on left, Nude Flush on right

Overall, these were… not great. First of all, these are not matte. The instructions say that one swipe will give a matte finish and more will make it more pigmented. Unlike other liquid to matte lipsticks on the market (both drugstore and mid- to high-end), these do not dry down and as a result, transfer quite a bit. Additionally, I would classify these as having more of a satin finish rather than matte. There is quite a bit of shine once you apply and applying a single coat isn’t enough to get complete coverage.

Applicators!

Applicators!

However, I did notice differences in the formula of the two colors. While both have a mousse-like formula, Nude Flush (a pink-toned nude) had a stronger scent and a shorter wear time. It also felt really weird on my lips, I was always aware it was there and it felt thick. The perfumed scent was unbearable. Also I just didn’t care for the color, I think it was a little too close to my skintone.

Nude Flush

Nude Flush

Nude Flush

Nude Flush

Rebel Red was a little bit better. I really love the color on this, it is definitely a true red with very little blue or yellow/orange undertones. Fortunately, the scent on this shade was not quite as strong and it applied much more evenly than Nude Flush. And best of all, it left a beautiful and even stain as it wore off and felt very comfortable to wear.

Rebel Red

Rebel Red

Rebel Red

Rebel Red

While I did like Rebel Red considerably more than Nude Flush, I can’t say that I would recommend these overall. There seems to be inconsistencies with the formula by shade and I would be nervous picking up another shade only to have it be a dud. There are a bazillion liquid matte lipsticks on the market to choose from, at all price points. I would have to give a pass on these.

Swatches! Rebel Red on left, Nude Flush on right

Swatches! Rebel Red on left, Nude Flush on right

*The Maybelline Color Sensational Vivid Matte Liquid Lipsticks were sent to me free for my review from Influenster. I received no compensation for this and all opinions are my own. For more information, please see my disclosure policy.

 

Leave a Reply

